Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

In the world of Lesfic (for the uninitiated that’s short for Lesbian Fiction) they call me politically incorrect.  In the world of mainstream fiction I’m called edgy.  Edgy is good.  Politically incorrect, bad.  In both worlds I’m the same writer, using the same words and the same plot, character and jokes.  Mainstreamers know that my funny politically incorrect words are my way of holding a mirror up to society and showing them what it looks like – in all it’s absurdism – because mainstream writers have been doing this for a long, long, long time.  On the other hand, some lesbians think I’m racist.  Or sexist. Or weightist.  Or an ageist.  Or that I’m just not a very good lesbian.   Straight people like funny lesbians, lesbians don’t. 

We take ourselves way too seriously, methinks.

I think lesbians are funny.  But maybe that’s just me.

That reminds me of an old joke:  How many lesbians does it take to screw in a lightbulb?  Two.  One to screw in the bulb and the other to write a folk song about it.

I think it’s high-time we laugh at ourselves.  C’mon, and laugh with me.  It’s very liberating.

 

Comments on: "Politically Incorrect or Edgy?" (6)

  1. Naw, you got it all wrong, Layce! It takes 13 lesbians to change a light bulb. The first two lesbians just go out to get the wood to build the ladder because they want to play with power tools. The next five lesbians come together to research where to buy the bulb. It takes five because they’ve got to be representative sample (butch, femme, androgynous, and two who eschew labels) and they have to do research because our dyke dollars must only go to LGBT supportive stores, that only buy bulbs from sustainable vendors and that responsibly dispose of the burned out ones. The gal playing the folk song will be serenading the four academics who are there to analyze the process and to write a paper on whether it is the light bulb that needs changing or ourselves. Then, there is the final lesbian to prepare to facilitate the support group for all those affected by the bulb.

  2. LOL! But I don’t think it’ll fit on a T-shirt.

  3. I’m a lesbian and I think you are funny and a great comic. You were meant to do stand-up, I think and I would definitely go see you. Hang in there and keep showing us our funny side.

  4. Thank you, Elaine! I just flew in and, boy, are my arms tired!

  5. I like edgy and funny and you can be both. Dont change! Although since I’ve not practiced my lesbianism in ohhh so long….yes you have to practice ive been told….I’m not sure what my input is worth.

    Now fly onward. You can pick up a gigantic fan from Home Depot and strap it to your back to help with wind factor as you flap.

  6. You are the wind beneath my wings, JLNicky!

Leave a Reply

