Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

“Life is always getting the way.”  That’s one of my favorite quotes.  It’s from the book “Fools Die” by Mario Puzo.

That pretty much sums up how I feel most days.  I love to write, create, make-up stories, weave words together to see what pattern they make, but somehow life always seems to get in the way.  Every day I wake up with the best of intentions.  And every day, I feel pushed, forced, to do everything but write.  I have to clean house, I have to take Emma here or there, I have to take the dog to the beauty shop, I have to grocery shop, I have to go do manual labor at one of my rentals… The list goes on.

Cleaning house is one of the chores I hate the most.  We have a pretty big house, actually far too big for just three people, and cleaning it takes a day of work.  I decided a year ago that instead of spending one full day of the week wasted on this chore I would instead clean just one part of it every day.  I would spend thirty minutes or so a day on one area like the downstairs bathroom, the next day the kitchen…  In other words, I would clean the house incrementally.  It works, too!  The house is always clean (more or less) and I didn’t have to dedicate a whole day to keeping it that way.  Thirty minutes or so out of each day seems much more manageable.

So, I started thinking… what if I applied this Power of Incrementalism to my writing?

Some days it was hard to get started writing because I was thinking about the whole book I needed to write.  That chore seemed to big to tackle.  I would lose spirit before I even got started.  What seems much more manageable is writing 500 words a day.

I put this plan into action last Thursday.  Come hell or high water, I sit down every morning and write 500 words.  The words fly out of me, taking less than thirty minutes to type out.  Usually, I ‘accidentally’ end up writing seven or eight hundred words.   In only seven days time I have 4,600 words written on a new book.  I also wrote around 2,000 words on a book I already had started.  And I still got all my “life” done, too!

The way I figure it if I write 500 words a day, six days a week (I’m resting on Sunday) that will make a total of 156,000 words every calendar year.  That’s approximately two books a year.  Two books written just 500 words at a time.

That’s the power of incrementalism.

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes…

(This blog is  461 words long.   Only 39 left to go!)

Leave a Reply

