Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

Heaven Is Pink

My daughter lived in Heaven before she was born.  I know this to be true because she told me so.  She was around four years old when she started telling me what Heaven was really like.  She told me enough that I actually began to think she wasn’t making it up.  Maybe she really did live there.  Maybe she really did remember.

Here, in no particular order, are the things she told me about her life in Heaven:

Heaven is pink. But it can be any color you want.  You can see pink, blink your eyes and then it’s blue.  Or it could be striped or polka dots.  It can be all the colors at once or no colors at all.  It’s your choice.

You can’t be lazy in Heaven.  Everybody has to go to school.  You go to school and sit on soft pillows and listen to the teacher.  The teacher tells you about the job you’re going to do when you go to earth.  You have to prepare for the job in your life.  You also go to school to learn how you messed up in your past life.  Jesus is one of the teachers.

Jesus is a man who’s really smart.  He’s really nice.  He walks around and talks to people.  He mostly talks to children and dogs, though.  He really likes dogs.  Sometimes he gets sad at the people on earth.  He gets sad when he thinks about all the hard work he did and people still don’t understand.  That’s when the dogs come and give him hugs and kisses.

Everybody in heaven is really pretty and nobody is ever sick.

Every week you go to the movies.  You get to see all the movies that have ever been made and after that, you get to see all the movies that haven’t been made yet.  The best part is that the popcorn is free and you can get refills as many times at you want.

Jesus’s favorite movie is Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. (The original)  So they show that one a lot.

Heaven has a huge library.  It doesn’t have all the books that have been written.  It has all the books that have not been written yet.  Angels read these books and whisper them to people on earth and they write them down.

Heaven works on the buddy system.  Emma was paired up with Hazel, my grandmother who died three months before she was born.  It was my grandmother who asked Emma to be born to me.  She said we’d make a good fit.  Hazel also said that I could learn a lot from Emma.  (so true!)

There is no time.

There is no hell.

Nobody ever sleeps in Heaven.

Nobody wear clothes.

You don’t talk with your mouth.  You talk by thinking of pictures.

You can look down on earth and watch people, but it’s kind of boring and sometimes it makes you sad so you don’t really want to do that.

Her favorite time in Heaven was when Elvis would play music in the park and everybody would dance.  I asked her if it was fat Elvis or skinny Elvis.  She replied that it was perfect Elvis.  Jesus and Elvis are good friends and Jesus sometimes sings “You Ain’t Nothing but a Hound Dog,” with Elvis.

I asked her if she had ever met God.  She told me there was no man named God.  God was when everybody in Heaven got together and held hands and sang.

I know that part of these stories Emma told me about Heaven were made up.  She had/has a big imagination.  But sometimes she told me things that gave me goosebumps and struck a deep chord inside me.  Sometimes she said things that were beyond the imagination, things that were beyond the scope of a four year old, and I still don’t know how to explain them.

The sad part is that she’s twelve now and hasn’t talked about Heaven in years.  I asked her the other day if she still remembered living in Heaven and she looked at me like I was crazy.  I guess that’s why I’m writing down the few things I remember her telling me – before I forget and it’s all lost forever.

I’m not asking you all to believe all this, but you have to admit it’s kind of cool, right?  And I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to the free popcorn and dancing with Elvis.

(Every time you hug a dog, Jesus smiles.)

Comments on: "Heaven Is Pink" (11)

  1. Sheri Campbell said:

    OOPS Left my comment in the Photo Journal..Senior moment I guess. Emma is special.

  2. absolutely awesome and totally believable…that girl of yours is very blessed

  3. Oh, I loved this 🙂

  4. Kathy Bundy said:

    It all sounds plausible to me. Except maybe Elvis Presley might be whoever you want him to be.

  5. That’s very cute and extremely deep in a lot of ways. Love your Blog

  6. Love your blog! Emma is a very smart lady! I love to sing and play guitar just can’t wait lo party with Elvis and company…I love specially the naked part! 😀

Leave a Reply

