Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

You know what I hate more than anything?  Marketing.  More specifically, I hate trying to sell my books.  I know all authors have to do it, but there’s something about hawking my wares that makes me feel like an over-age, skanky hooker working the street and nobody wants to ‘date’ her.  I don’t know if other authors feel that way, maybe it’s just me…  I love to create, I love to write, but I hate selling it.

There’s only one thing I hate more.   When nobody buys what I’m selling.  Ouch!

So the one thing I really love is when you get a good book review and that sells the book for you.  Or at least helps.  At least you’re not the skank in the tight miniskirt standing on the street corner.  The reviewer gets to be the hooker.

Well, what all this build up is about is the new book review I just got.  It’s for my book “A Perfect Romance” and the review is here.  It made me cry.  Happy tears.  She (I think it’s a she) knows that I’m not just writing fluffy comedy.  I have something to say under all that fluff.  Anyway, this worm person gave me a fucking awesome review and I hope you go read it and I hope you continue to read her reviews because she really looks deep into stuff.  She really gets down into the words, rubs them all over her body, wallows around in them and then tells it like she sees it.  She’s pretty awesome (but maybe I just like her because she wrote nice things about me, I dunno.)

Anyway, I’m going to print her review out and sleep with it under my pillow from now on.  (oh, who am I kidding, I’m going to dry hump it starting right now.)

So, pardon moi while I tug on my vinyl leopard print miniskirt and tube top, stumble up to your car, lean in your window and say, “Hey, sexy, lookin’ for a date?”

A Perfect Romance

at

Amazon and Barnes and Noble

A Perfect Romance cover

Comments on: "Book Reviews, Marketing, and The Worm" (14)

  1. OK. That settles it. I’ve been wanting to purchase a copy of this book for awhile now, but funds have been as dry as the air around here lately. But after reading this review of a review, I’m pullin’ out that credit card and takin’ you up on that offer for a date. With the book, Saxon, with the book! You may hate marketing, but you are darn good at it. Thanks for getting me off my duff.

  2. This is a great post! I, too, abhor hawking my wares. I do NOT look good in fishnet stockings! I also love how you call your reviewers hookers, and you mean it as a compliment. Hilarious! And as for that review… that’s the kind of review authors dream about. Congratulations on a job well done and for being recognized for being the master of words that you are!

  3. Sheri Campbell said:

    Layce be proud that you can make / create something wonderful to sell. Hey, I understand about selling…I always hated selling Girl Scout cookies but I did my share.

  4. Mags Dixon said:

    What a fantastic review. Congratulations on a wonderful book – off to buy it now.

    Still working through the images to you in a boob tube and fishnets dry humping a piece of paper 😀

  5. Lynne Buckley said:

    Great review. I bought your book this morning after reading it.

  6. Layce dear ; )
    I can’t read the review yet, I started to but it got to detaily and i have not read A Perfect Romance yet! I am having a hard time keeping up with my READING lately but it’s just been moved to the top of my pile ; )
    I’ll take it to the GCLS…
    I have loved every one of your stories so i have no doubt ever about your books they are never a disappointment, ever!
    This review looks awesome but no matter what it says if it made you feel good about your writing i hope you read it every day ; )
    I’m a fan and i’ve made no secret of that but just in case you’re ever feeling low or feeling like the hooker that can’t make a buck… i’d hook for you anytime ; )
    It’s always a pleasure for me to push your books and who knows… when i’m done reading A Perfect Romance i may even go to amazon and write another review (my last review was for TATS) and it’s hard to believe that was already two years ago so i’m due ; )
    p.s. but if i’m hooking i’ll need a newbig-ass red purse ; )
    and you’re message (what you have to say) comes through in your books LOUD AND CLEAR and well ” PERFECTLY ” (pun intended) ; )
    Wish you were coming to the conference, i will miss you there !!

    • You’re so right, Jaynes! And, you must know that you were one of the first people who said out loud that they believed in me and I don’t think I can ever repay you for that. Your kind words (and faith in me) has gotten me thru some rough times. xoxoxo
      PS – you would make an excellent hooker and I mean that in the nicest way possible!

  7. Not all! Yet most lesbian fiction ebooks make me laugh and not in a kind way. A Perfect Romance had me howling with laughter and begging for more, so bring on the fishnets sassy your big ole ass to your writing table and hooker us more of that good stuff that keeps me, at least pining for more. I am willing to throw money.

Leave a Reply

