Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

When Is a Purse Not a Purse?

Most of you know by now that I’m into crocheting. It’s my creative hobby away from my writing. It keeps my creative juices flowing while I’m not actively writing. I have my crocheting; Saxon has her fabric art. I bought her a sewing machine a couple of months ago and ever since she has been cutting up old clothes and scouring flea markets for material. Some days I wonder where she disappeared to, then I hear the whir of the sewing machine from upstairs.

Last night, the machine stopped whirring and several minutes later, Saxon bounded down the stairs, exclaiming, “Look what I just made!”

I looked it over. It was a purse with a zipper. “This is so cool,” I said. “You did a great job with the zipper.”

“Thanks,” she said, beaming.

I handed it back to her. “Will you make me a purse next? Just like that one, but red.”

Saxon looked at me, mortified. “This isn’t a purse.”

“It isn’t? Then what is it?”

“Well, it’s not a purse.” She said the word ‘purse’ like it tasted bad.

“It looks like a purse to me.”

“Well, it’s not. It’s a… bag. I made it to hold all my stuff.”

I nodded. “That’s what a purse does. It holds all your stuff.”

“This is a BAG. I put my wallet in it. My kindle. My chapstick. So I can have all my stuff in one easy-to-locate bag.”

“Uh huh,” I said. “That would be the definition of a purse.”

“It’s not a fuckin’ purse,” she said.

“I don’t know what the big deal is. You made yourself a purse, so what? It’s pretty.”

“It’s not a purse,” she grumbled under her breath.

“Okay, okay,” I relented. “It’s not a purse. It’s a pretty little bag that you carry under you arm like a clutch purse only it’s not.”

Saxon stalked out of the room and stomped up the stairs. I went back to my crocheting and said under my breath, “It’s a purse.”

“It’s not a PURSE!” she yelled from upstairs.

Something tells me I haven’t heard the last of this.

To Be Continued…

Heart's Desire Cover_edited-2

“Short, hot and delicious!”

At Amazon for only 99 cents!

Comments on: "When Is a Purse Not a Purse?" (8)

  1. OMG! That made me laugh SO HARD!!!

  2. I can’t wait to see what happens next 🙂

  3. I carry a bag too, not a purse! Tell Saxon there are many of us on her side and I am one of them. Mine’s a Timbuk2. Hmmm a sewing machine …

  4. I love when you guys write conversations…..always funny. I don’t carry a purse either, Congratulations for using the sewing machine , Saxon..

  5. Kim Johnson said:

    You two! I’m glad no blood was drawn. LOL!

  6. Leigh Hubbard said:

    It’s NOT a PURSE!!!! LMAO

  7. Karen Kormelink said:

    I think it’s a lurse, you know a lesbian purse…or a bag, that works too.

Leave a Reply

