Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

Pardon My Blooper!

When I was a kid I had a record album (remember those?) called Pardon My Blooper! It was a compilation of famous bloopers from TV shows.

blooper

  The record had that one famous line from The Newlywed Game. You know the one where Bob Eubanks asked the question “Where’s the strangest place you ever made whoopee?” and the man answered, “In the butt, Bob, in the butt.”

There was another scene on the album from Johnny Carson’s Tonight Show. Zsa Zsa Gabor was his guest and she brought her pet cat on the show with her. She asked Johnny in her thick accent, “Would you like to pet my pussy?” After the studio audience stopped laughing, Johnny said with perfect comic timing, “Get that cat out of your lap and I will.”

But my favorite blooper was from the old Groucho Marx show “You Bet Your Life.”

groucho life

Groucho called a woman contestant up in front of the camera with him and began to ask her questions. It went something like this:

Groucho: What’s your name?

Woman: Eunice Hofstader.

Groucho: Nice to meet you, Eunice.

Woman: You too, Groucho.

Groucho: Are you married?

Woman: Yes, I am.

Groucho: Too bad. (Grouch wags his eyebrows and the studio audience laughs) How long you been married?

Woman: Eight years.

Groucho: You have any children?

Woman: I sure do. I have nine children.

Groucho: Nine children in eight years?

(Groucho’s eyes go big as he ashes his cigar. The audience laughs.)

Groucho: Wow. I like my cigar but I like to take it out of my mouth once in a while.

(The audience roars. The camera goes black.)

grouch stork

That was the last thing Groucho ever said on the air. His show wasn’t brought back.

I’ve thought of that recorded moment hundreds of times throughout the years. It has never failed to make me laugh. That’s the thing with comedy, right? It can hurt and make you laugh at the same time.

 

“Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.” ~ Groucho Marx

CLT Cover w farce_edited-1

Available for buying and borrowing at Amazon!

 

Comments on: "Pardon My Blooper!" (1)

  1. Sheri Campbell said:

    I love to watch the bloopers from the comedy sit-comes too. Carol Burnett show has some really funny ones too. Groucho was a favorite too. Brought smiles to my face remembering these. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

