Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

Mother Knows Best

My mother is quite a brilliant woman. (Mom, if you’re reading this I want another chocolate pie.)

pie

My mother majored in business in college and even owned her own business while I was growing up. So when it comes to making business decisions, she is my go-to for advice.
She once told me this piece of wisdom, “The only thing worse than owing people money is when they owe you money.” As an ex-landlord, I can attest to the truth of this.
Another time my Ebay store was doing badly. It was almost at the point where I was working for free. (I sold vintage and antique postcards.) My mother’s advice was to raise the price on everything in the store. That seemed back-asswards to me.
I asked her, “Why would somebody pay ten bucks for a postcard when they won’t pay two bucks for it now?”
She answered, “Because people don’t want something unless it’s expensive.”

mother said

Turns out she was right. I raised all my prices and two days later I couldn’t keep up with my orders.

Then there’s the story of my couch. I was living in L.A. and had bought a new couch. Which meant I had to get rid of my old couch. But in L.A. it costs something like $100 to take a couch to the dump. So, I carried the couch out to the road and put a “Free” sign on it.
The couch sat in front of my house for three days looking sad and forlorn.
Remembering my mother’s advice, one night I changed the sign to read: “For Sale – $500.” The next morning the couch was gone. Somebody had ‘stolen’ it!

knows best

I guess the moral of this story is – Don’t undervalue your work.
Or maybe it’s – Listen to your mother.
Or it could be – I write for pie.

Making the world a happier place, one book at a time!

CLT Cover w farce_edited-1

Available in ebook and print here!

Comments on: "Mother Knows Best" (5)

  1. Thanks for the great chuckle this morning. I have done this “technique” too. It is a wonder what people will take off your sidewalk when you put a for “sale” sign on it.

    • I know, right? Makes you lose faith in humanity. Here in Oklahoma, though, I put a free sign on things and people still knock on my door to ask if it’s okay if they take it. And sometimes they try to give me money for it.

  2. Great post! Your mom sounds like a great lady (and the apple didn’t fall far from the tree, obviously).

  3. Wonderful words of advice!! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

