Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

Don’t Yuck Up My Yum

It’s astounding how many tragic events I’ve lived through in the past twenty years. I’ve witnessed 9/11, the OKC bombing, Columbine, The Boston Marathon bombing, countless other school shootings, Hurricane Katrina, the L.A. Riots, The 6.8 earthquake in L.A., yesterday’s shooting in S.C., tons of earthquakes around the world… the list of world tragedies goes on and on.

I have not witnessed each and every one personally. Meaning, I was not at each location as the events unfolded. But I did see them on the TV. And on Facebook.

I wonder sometimes how I am still functioning. How am I not crazy by now? I have lived vicariously through these things and I’m not a slobbering mess in a straitjacket?

TV was fun when I was growing up. Happy Days, Laverne & Shirley, The Love Boat. Families used to sit around the TV and laugh together. Then somewhere along the line TV became angry, competitive, and had these reality shows that made fun of people and hurt people. News became 24 hours and you could watch people die in a bombing over and over and over.

Facebook also used to be fun. It was a way to connect socially with like-minded people, find old acquaintances and share some laughs. However, recently, it has become a place to rant. I read long rants by people who don’t like what somebody did in a movie theatre, or a line at the P.O. or a what telemarketer said, or that a writer of Lesfic had made a typo in their book. God forbid, a writer post a promo about their newest book in a FB group that says they want promos. And I won’t even talk about the pictures of abused dogs and cats.

I turned off my TV five years ago and haven’t turned it back on.

I don’t sign on to FB now for days at a time.

I can’t handle the tragedy, drama, stress, and anxiety those two mediums bring.

In other words, today’s media is yucking up my yum.

I wake up in the morning and I’m happy. I look out my window and see what a beautiful world I live in. I smile at my neighbors and they smile back. I do what I can to make the world a better place. I raise my daughter to be kind to everyone – regardless of gender, race, religion, sexual orientation or whatever. I write comedy and try to bring a smile to people’s faces. It might not be much, but it’s what I can do.

Knowing about world events is one thing. Wallowing in them is another. I don’t think it’s good for a person mentally or emotionally. I don’t think it’s a good thing to spend hours staring at a TV screen or a computer screen watching horror after horror after horror.

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’m too soft-hearted or empathic or something. But if you’re feeling depressed or stressed or anxious, maybe you should consider spending less time on FB or watching TV. Maybe you should take a walk and look at the beauty around you. Maybe you should talk to your neighbor or the person sitting next to you on the bus. Maybe you should try reading a book and being grateful that the world has these books for you.

Maybe you can do something to add some yum of your own to the world’s yuck.

I’m choosing to be happy today. I hope you do, too.


Here’s a yummy book!

gigolo

Laugh Out Loud funny!

Available at Amazon for only $4.99!

Comments on: "Don’t Yuck Up My Yum" (8)

  1. I don’t think anyone could have said it better, Layce. Go sister, and write on! 🙂

  2. jeannenicholas said:

    I watch NASA TV channel a lot. Its slow moving space and discussions about space. Very calming. Plus I play with my dog.

  3. canuckeh said:

    Well said.

  4. Donna Wells said:

    Thank you! Thank You! You read my mind.

  5. Yes! I truly believe that a good attitude is a choice and those who choose wisely every day are blessed to see the world as a happy place. If I had the skill to write hunorous books – I would, but I can certainly choose to read them! Great blog.

  6. Linda D. Mills said:

    You know what, Layce? You are absolutely right! I’ve been thinking that I spend way too much time on FB, and watching TV. From now on I’m going to walk outside my building, see and hear the birds, and smile at folks on the street Thank you for your blog. I agree with every point you made. Your books and stories are very good. Keep ’em coming! Linda

  7. Truer words could not have been spoken any better. Thank you. I wish more people would have that mentality. And I must say your books definitely bring a laugh to my day. Even after I have read them and remember a bit here or there.

Leave a Reply

