Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

If you are friends with me on Facebook you already know that I love bacon and crocheting is one of my hobbies. But here are ten things you probably don’t know about me.

  1.  I’m a licensed stockbroker. I took the Series 7 exam and worked for Shearson Lehman right after college
  2. I taught Special Ed at Glendale High School in California for two years
  3.  I am tall. At 5’10” I am officially tall enough to be in the national tall women’s club.
  4. I am a Reiki practitioner. I am second level and want to move on to third
  5. I quit smoking six years ago after smoking for 35 years
  6. I have been a self-employed writer (playwright, screenwriter and novelist) for most of my adult life
  7. I am an avid jigsaw puzzle-ist
  8. I detest talking on the phone (classic introvert symptom) and never pick it up when it rings unless it’s my mother or my daughter calling.
  9. I played the trumpet for seven years
  10. I adopted my daughter, Emma. It was a private adoption and I was present for her birth

 

Bonus #11 – if you sign up for the Square Pegs newsletter on the Sign Me Up! tab above, I’ll email you a free book!

Comments on: "10 Things You Don’t Know About Me" (6)

  1. Hi Layce,

    You don’t know me at all, but I will give you the top four things most people don’t know about me: 1. I have lived in Vermont for over ten years but spent 50+ years as a “Jersey boy”, and was born in the Bronx near Yankee Stadium. 2. I attended Catholic school K-12 and learned that all sex was evil. 3. I was a National Merit Scholar and was recruited acedemically by Michigan State and other well know colleges, and for reasons that I cannot reconstruct, went To SUNY Maritime to be a merchant marine officer (just like Capt. Richard Phillips, although the Somalis would have shot me immediately.) 4. I transferred to a state college in NJ where I got my BA in Sociology (eminently helpful career-wise) and my Master’s in Theatre. I also went to HB Studio in NYC, famous acting school (the “H” in “HB” was for Uta Hagen, the original Martha in “Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf.” I acted in about 60-70 plays, directed 5 or 6, and auditioned for the musical “Grease” on Broadway (I got through the first line of “Greased Lightning” when the words “THANK you!” rang out over the theatre. I also auditioned for Woody Allen, CBS Soaps (the casting director told me in a very nice way that I wasn’t attractive enough for TV), and Lainie Kazan’s cabaret room in the New York Playboy Club where (unaccountably) I sang a disco version of “Bali Hai” that was not well-received (even though they let me finish.) The actress/singer immediately behind me was Paige O’Hara who was the voice of Belle in the original Disney cartoon.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Mike

    Mike Mulcahy Cell 922-2912 Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I don’t see a sign me up button!

  3. Couldn’t see a sign me up button!

Leave a Reply

