Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

Why Lesfic?

The single most asked question I get as a writer is “Why don’t you write mainstream fiction?” In other words, why don’t I write about straight people?  Let me begin by saying that most of the askers have good intentions. They are under the impression that mainstream fiction is somehow better than lesbian fiction. They think I would make more money, or that I would gain more recognition writing mainstream. Both of those assumptions are false.

writer

The reason I write lesfic is because I am a lesbian. It has been said, “Write what you know.” It makes me wonder if a black person is ever asked “Why don’t you write about white people?” Did James Baldwin or Toni Morrison ever get asked that?

Was Amy Tan ever thought of as lesser because she wrote about her culture?

I am a lesbian. I write about lesbian lives, romances, dramas, and comedies because that is where my heart is. It’s what I know. I don’t understand straight people. I don’t understand a single freakin’ thing about their relationships. It’s like entering a foreign land where I don’t speak the language.

There’s just something about seeing myself on the page that excites me. It validates me. It makes me feel so not alone. I would rather read or write about lesbians any day over straight people.

Reason number two why I write lesfic: because that is where I am needed most. Mainstream fiction doesn’t need nor want me. I can make a mark in lesfic. I feel needed and appreciated there. I know with the advent of self-publishing we have a lot of lesfic writers. Some say too many. I say not enough. We need more lesbian writers. We need more lesbian readers. There is never too much of a good thing. Fifteen years ago, there was only Naiad. I’m ever glad they were there, but it was a monopoly. That meant whatever Naiad wanted, that’s all we had. Now that lesbians are self-publishing the stories are more varied than ever. Envelopes are being pushed. I love that! Homogenization is going away!

I love being the mirror that is held up before the eyes of lesbians. It makes me proud. I am so blessed that my work has a home. A home where I feel useful and wanted.

To all my readers out there—I don’t care if you’re lesbian, gay, straight, male or female, trans, genderqueer, bi, non-binary, or whatever—thank you for making me proud to be a lesfic writer.

Here’s my newest book!

Book Two of the True Heart series

SFTH cover3

Available by clicking here

Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

Comments on: "Why Lesfic?" (12)

  1. Actually, Toni Morrison is often asked why she doesn’t write about white people. Think, for a moment, about the assumptions of the person asking that: white people are more interesting, white people are the REAL people, white people count (as if other people don’t). But what they are really saying is, why don’t you write about me?

    If I were you, I would tell them, I do write mainstream fiction. The mainstream just doesn’t know it yet.

    I do not call myself a lesfic writer. Yes, my work appeals to lesbians, but I never intended for it to have an audience of only lesbians. I wrote about that here:
    http://blog.catherinemwilson.com/2016/03/why-i-don-write-lesbian-fiction-several.html

  2. Thank you for the hours of reading enjoyment and for the connection to people, relationships and the validation we see on those same pages. Your books will always have a place on my overcrowded bookshelves or tablet.

  3. Anne Hagan said:

    I couldn’t agree more! Some of my family members are the worst culprits when it comes to asking, “why did you write about us but make it lesbian?” First of all, I am a lesbian. I, like you, write what I know. I don’t actually write about them but I write about my experiences that sometimes involved them. There is a difference.

    I can take something that really happened, twist it and turn it to suit my purposes…make it the way it should have been even, and then share it with an appreciative lesbian audience. That’s what it’s really all about. Sharing our lives with each other. To borrow a phrase from the hip-hop clothing designer FUBU; For Us, By Us.

  4. I’m not nearly as well known as you and even I get that question…ie straight mainstream lit is better…I just shake my head. I agree we need more lesfic, not less. I also remember when I would savor my new book and had to scrounge for books to read which forced me to read “straight mainstream” because there wasn’t enough to choose from. Now I have plenty to read….woo hoo.

  5. Debra s Shetters said:

    I am so thankful that you keep writing as fast as you can. I got this latest book as soon as it came out. I am a 63 year young lesbian that read Naked as much as I could find because that was all there was. I spent 19 .years in the closet ,married , and had 3 wonderful children. I would not change the children part of my lufe. It was hard but when I finally got the courage to leave that part of my life and become who I really was , I really started to live. My daughter actually came out to me the same day I was going to tell her about myself. We both knew about each other before anything was spoken. I have now been worth my partner for 20 has and we are really happy. My kids also sees happy for me and love my wife.
    Back to your writing, please keep up your amazing work. You have wonderful characters that I Often relate to. Your books make me feel alive and I just love the way you show real life from a Lesbian point of view.You are wonderful.
    Debbie

  6. I’ve never understood why it’s a big deal…
    I love your explanation!
    I love to read and write LesFIC !
    I appreciate it more than any other genre.
    I get it and I don’t get straight relationships much either. I’m a lesbian so I do prefer to lesbian stories and stories told from a lesbian’s point of view.
    I am so happy I discovered your books 📚
    It’s a pleasure reading them 😉
    I’ve never met a Layce Gardner book I didn’t ❤️
    Keep writing from the heart! Keep writing LesFIC!!
    Just keep writing 😉
    I’ll keep reading❣️
    Love to you and yours. …jaynes ; )

  7. […] by a few other blogs (K’Anne Meinel and Layce Gardner) I have read recently, I wanted to talk about my own reasons for writing lesbian […]

Leave a Reply

