Making lesbians happy – one book at a time

I’m going to say it right up front. The photo with Kathy Griffin holding up a fake decapitated head of Trump did not offend me. I will admit that I can totally see how it would offend somebody else. Somebody who, say, hasn’t seen all the blood and gore on TV lately, or seen a movie in the past twenty years, or is blind and hasn’t seen any print media since the 50s.

kathy

I don’t think KG should have apologized. She’s an artist. She had a right to to put out there whatever message she wanted even if most people didn’t like it. That’s what comedians do. Think about Lenny Bruce and George Carlin. They went to jail over some of the stuff they said. People hated them, booed them, protested them. Why? Because they dared to speak the truth.

Lenny-Bruce-arrested_3in

“If Jesus had been killed twenty years ago, little Catholic school children would be wearing electric chairs on chains around their necks instead of crosses.” ~Lenny Bruce

 

And that’s exactly what KG did. She spoke the unvarnished truth. To me, the severed head represented my feelings about Trump. It was like she reached into my heart and pulled out the feelings I now have for Trump, the Republicans, and the so-called christians. Then she held up my blob of hate for all the world to see. She forced me to look at what was living inside me, and you know what? I didn’t like what I saw.

KG made me think. And I am grateful for that.

A lot of people on social media lambasted her for that photo. Especially the right. Then the left came back saying, Hey! What about all those lynching photos you showed of Obama? And all those effigies you burned?

Let me make this straight: A photo of lynching a black man is not equal to a photo of a white man’s decapitated head. Why? Because lynchings are reality. They have happened and are still happening. Black men are still afraid that it could happen to them—and for a very good reason. I don’t know of a single instance where a white man was decapitated by a small, white woman. The threat is extremely farfetched.

There is something else I want people to examine: KG is not the first celebrity to get in trouble for “going too far.” Remember the Dixie Chicks? At one of their concerts they said they didn’t support Bush and the backlash was immediate. How about Sinead O’Connor? She tore up a photo of the Pope and was hung out to dry. Amy Schumer? She has said that she doesn’t think the mentally ill should be allowed to own guns. That’s it. The mentally ill should not own guns. People walked out of her concerts for her saying that. The reason she said this is because a mentally ill man walked into a theatre that was showing her movie Trainwreck and killed two random, innocent women.

MV5BOTQ3MDc1MTI2Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzYxMDgzOQ@@._V1_UY317_CR37,0,214,317_AL_

“All we were fighting for was for people who have been convicted of domestic violence or if they are severely mentally ill, like, I don’t think you should be able to get a gun. … What a lot of people hear is: ‘You want to take all our guns!’ I’m like, ‘Oh my god, no, you seem great. You should get more guns.’ I’m just talking about the severely mentally ill — ‘You’re taking all our Amendments. What’s next — you’re going to fuck animals?’ And I’m like, ‘I’ve been fucking animals for my whole life, sir.’”

 

What do these recent celebrities have in common? Yes, they’re all liberals, but there’s something else. They are women. Our society does not let women speak their mind. Especially if they are of a liberal bent.

Need further proof? Here it is. Ted Nugent mimed looking down the scope of a rifle, said he’s going to blow Hillary away, and nothing happened to him. In fact, he was invited to the White House to meet Trump.

Nugent

Decked out in full-on camouflage hunting gear, Nugent wielded two machine guns while raging, “Obama, he’s a piece of shit. I told him to suck on my machine gun. Hey Hillary,” he continued, “You might want to ride one of these into the sunset, you worthless bitch.” (Quoted from Rolling Stone magazine)

 

I am not asking you to say or think what Kathy Griffin did was okay. I am, however, asking you to not to jump on the Republican bandwagon. She has the right to perform her art. She is an artist, a comedian, and that’s what they do. They bravely wade through all the muck that others won’t. They have the courage to hold that mirror up to society and make us look at it.

The conservative Republicans are behind this liberal outcry over KG’s photo. You know how a pack of dogs can turn on itself? That’s what they have made us do—turn on ourselves. As women, we can’t afford to do that.

 

Book Two is here!

SFTH cover3

Available by clicking here!

Comments on: "Kathy Griffin’s Head on a Platter" (2)

  1. I didn’t see the picture…but I agree. Frankly, I was more offended by Bill Maher’s joke with his use of the “n” word. He apologized and I am still working through whether I am okay with that. I suppose people are human and I can’t say I’ve never said something very stupid before. You can bet that if Trump said that he would 1) never apologize and 2) pass it off as “locker room” talk or cofveve….

  2. Mary Anne said:

    i agree with your assessment that women are targeted by conservative media when they speak their mind. I asked in a post the other day where is the outrage that should be directed to Tyler Shieds, the male photographer that collaborated with KG on the photo. I haven’t heard anything in the press about him being pilloried and losing work because of that photo. I’m not a huge fan of KG but she is a woman who has spent a lot of time on USO trips to entertain our troops. That speaks more to her character, in my mind, than a silly photo ever will.

Leave a Reply

